Philatelic Society for Greater Southern Africa

Philatelic Society for Greater Southern Africa




The Philatelic Society For Greater Southern Africa focuses upon all philatelic areas related to the following past and present stamp-issuing entities and areas:

  • Anglo-Boer War
  • The Bechuanalands
  • Botswana
  • British Central Africa
  • Cape of Good Hope
  • Griqualand East/West
  • The Homelands
  • The Interprovisional Period
  • Lesotho
  • Local Posts
  • Malawi
  • Namibia
  • Natal
  • New Republic
  • Nyasaland
  • Orange Free State/Colony
  • The Pre-Adhesive Period
  • The Rhodesias
  • South West Africa (German & British Periods)
  • Stellaland
  • Swaziland
  • Transvaal
  • Union/Republic of South Africa
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe, and
  • Zululand.


To promote appreciation, understanding, increased knowledge and camaraderie through the mutual sharing of information and materials on the philately of greater southern Africa.

Membership Services

  • 3 issues of the journal Forerunners
  • Translation of philatelic items
  • International representatives
  • Question and answer with an expert panel
  • Library and archives service
  • Publications program
  • Auctions
  • Free Downloads of publications

Membership: PSGSA Membership Application