National Museums Board

National Museums Board


The National Museums Board is a statutory body created by an Act of Parliament, Chapter 174, of the Laws of Zambia. The Board’s principal role is to contribute to the national development effort through the establishment, development and management of sustainable museums for the preservation, presentation and promotion of Zambia’s movable heritage.

Through its museums, the Board researches into, collects, documents, preserves, interprets, presents, and promotes Zambia’s movable cultural and natural heritage.

The Board comprises  a Secretariat and four National Museums through which it carries out its mandate. The National Museums are: Copperbelt Museum in Ndola,   Livingstone Museum in Livingstone, Lusaka National Museum in Lusaka and Moto Moto Museum in Mbala.The Board also provides support to two community museums, namely, Choma Museum and Crafts Centre in Choma and Nayuma Museum in Mongu.

Community Museums

  • Choma Museum and Crafts Centre
  • Nayuma Museum

National Museums



  • James Gavin