Municipality of Salisbury

Municipality of Salisbury



The Pioneer Column, a military volunteer force of settlers organised by Cecil Rhodes, founded Salisbury on 12 September 1890 as a fort. They originally named the city Fort Salisbury after The 3rd Marquess of Salisbury, then British prime minister, and it subsequently became known simply as Salisbury.

It was declared to be a municipality in 1897 and it attained city status 3rd May, 1935.

Town Clerk

  • James Gavin
  • Simon Peetoom