International Labour Organisation (ILO)

International Labour Organisation (ILO)


International Labour Organisation (ILO) is a specialised agency of the United Nations. The ILO Office in Zambia was established in 1968 following an agreement signed between the Government of the Republic of Zambia and the International Labour Office.

Originally, the Lusaka Office was responsible for eight countries in the Southern Africa region, namely: Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The office also organised and supported ILO assistance to liberation movements of South Africa, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

Following the end of the apartheid regime in South Africa and the opening of an ILO office in Pretoria in 1995, the country Office in Lusaka is now responsible for three countries: Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique.



Stamp Issues


  • James Gavin